Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

Large Print - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
69
"Fans of Barbara Kingsolver will love this stunning debut novel from a New York Times bestselling nature writer, about an unforgettable young woman determined to make her way in the wilds of North Carolina, and the two men that will break her isolation open. For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She's barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of fireflies the real way of this world. But while she could have lived in solitude forever, the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. Drawn to two young men from town, who are each intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new and startling world--until the unthinkable happens. In Where the Crawdads Sing, Owens juxtaposes an exquisite ode to the natural world against a heartbreaking coming of age story and a surprising murder investigation. Thought-provoking, wise, and deeply moving, Owens's debut novel reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps"--Provided by publisher.
Publisher: [New York] : Random House Large Print, [2018]
Edition: Large print ed.
ISBN: 9781984827616
1984827618
Characteristics: 496 pages : map ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

July 16; August is Reader's Choice

July 16; August is Reader's Choice

July 16; August is Reader's Choice

This book has it all: mystery, survival, isolationism, classism, orphans, oh my gosh. I did not want it it end and I was truly surprised. Now I want to read the Cry of the Kalahari by this author and her husband, two naturalists/biologists.

Comment
mko123 Apr 29, 2019

I loved this book. You wont be disappointed.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
p
peacebenow
Jun 17, 2019

If you want a book you can't put down with celebration of nature thrown in, this is a great summer read for you. Kya succeeds against all odds. What is family, friendship, love and community? Owens is a great story teller and i love her celebration of nature and it's importance in this story. The only weak point is... what if Kya was not beautiful. This seemingly was an advantage for her and also her downfall. Best not to think too much and just enjoy this book.

r
RosaReads2
Jun 11, 2019

Luxurious prose, a captivating protagonist, and an immersive setting drew me into this fantastic story. The moment I started reading, I was entranced by the perfect pacing and unique narrative. Where the Crawdads Sing will surely be one of my favorite books from this year.

d
DenisDesautels
Jun 07, 2019

I loved it! I recognize there are some opposing views but this book was entertaining and captivating. I was highly invested in the characters, the era and the southern culture. A very good read!

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Jun 05, 2019

Such a good book. Perfect for fans of Kingsolver. I hope this primarily non-fiction author writes more fiction!

c
cokie28
Jun 04, 2019

This is a somewhat compelling, competently written book telling a far-fetched story about a young, abandoned girl who survives in a dangerous marsh land who grows up to be a published and respected authority on the local biome. She has a small amount of help, but it doesn't take a village, which is largely hostile. There are oddities about the book: why is Asheville mentioned, as a destination, but not Charlotte or Greensboro? And why does Kya not reach puberty until 15? But overall I liked it, kept reading to the end, and recommend it.

g
GreenDog2006
May 31, 2019

There are a few holdouts here and on Amazon finding reasons to not give this 5 stars, but taken as a whole, it's just a remarkable book. The main character Kya is unique and unforgettable, the 1950s N. Carolina coastal marshland setting so vivid I feel like I've been there, and the mystery that gradually threatens Kya's life slithers in like a snake in the swamp. I couldn't put it down.

The writing is clear and direct - no dense, flowery prose from wildlife scientist author, just a soul-deep connection to a vanishing, underappreciated landscape. Sure, the plot can be a little strained at times and there are some unresolved questions, but none of that matters. There's a mystery, but it's not the heart of the book; there's a love story, but that's not the core, either. The novel is an homage to Kya, and glows with her fierce determination to learn and survive.

Where the Crawdads sing is so multi-layered, I'm already prepared to be disappointed in the movie Reese Witherspoon has in the works and all the detail it's bound to leave out.

Hillsboro_JenniFerg May 28, 2019

Quite impressive for a debut novel! Delia Owens writes beautifully, and like a seasoned novelist. I felt fully immersed in the alluring setting, and gripping plot, wanting to return to this book time and time again!

j
JILLYJELLY
May 28, 2019

I just thought this was "meh." The writing felt a little rudimentary to me: "oh Kya, oh Tate" Every sentence had them say each other's names--was she getting paid by the word? The story is good and I liked the ending but the stellar praise is a bit overdone in my opinion!

e
EmilyEm
May 25, 2019

On her own from a young age Kya Clark learns survival skills at her home in North Carolina’s coastal marshes. She’s mostly alone watched over by Jumpin’, a kindly marina owner, and Tate, her brother’s friend.

Wonderful sense of place. Kya’s coming of age as a naturalist beautifully told. Intriguing mystery. Can see why it’s so appealing to so many. A bit ambitious, forced. Somewhat typical for a first novel.

_McGeek_ May 22, 2019

Read this book in 24 hours which I haven't done in a very long time. So many great things happening here: the setting, the mystery, the knowledge of the land and nature, the characters, and of course a gripping story beautifully written. I'd highly recommend this one.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PIDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top