Dead Man's Walk

Dead Man's Walk

A Novel

Book - 1995
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Comments (2)

Add a Comment
May 07, 2019

I haven't read "Lonesome Dove" or "Streets of Laredo" yet, but decided to begin the LD series in chronological order based on when the books's events were set. "Dead Man's Walk" is first, followed by "Comanche Moon," both of which were published after LD and "Streets of Laredo." I found DMW to be a page-turner with suspense and plenty of trials for Gus McCrae and Woodrow Call.

Oct 16, 2016

Gus McCrae and Woodrow Call [Lonesome Dove] as young men join the Texas Rangers. By a fun bit of trickery with time and history McMurtry involves them in the Texas Santa Fe Expedition of 1841 which in this rendition ends as the Mier Expedition.... Don't attempt to get your history from this one, but it's an amusing revisiting of the two later heroes of Lonesome Dove before the ever dreamed of renting pigs.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number
To Top